Welcome to A Maternal State of Mind!!!

My temperature dropped this morning.  Ugh.  These little indications my body gives me have taken on a whole new meaning since the hubby and I began trying for our first baby 5 months ago.  For those of you totally new to this, or just plain curious, a basal body temperature (BBT) drop close to the end of your cycle generally indicates that you’re NOT pregnant, and that Ms. Flow is just around the corner.  Never did I imagine a benign number like 96.7 would send my spiraling into a day-long depression filled with disappointment, frustration, anger and sadness.

But…let me back up and introduce myself and my story.

Hi, my name is Emily and I’m a wanna-be mama.  My wonderful husband and I have been trying to get pregnant since March 2012.

We met in 2008 while living in NYC.  I was the last to arrive at a volunteer event and found myself sitting next to this adorable, admittedly 18-year old looking, man (He was actually 24).  When I heard the sweet sweet melodies of his British accent, I melted and almost slipped out of my chair.   I batted my eyes a bit and smiled my “you’re cute” smile  and really, the rest is history.  We married on August 27, 2010 and are now finally trying to settle down like ‘real’ adults in Denver, CO, which is where we ended up after finishing grad school in the UK October 2011.

I’ve started this blog for a number of reasons:

  1. to simply keep my sanity;
  2. to help my husband maintain his sanity – by avoiding having to listen to me b*tch and moan constantly about how we’re ‘failing’ as baby-makers;
  3. for you – for all those ladies/couples out there who are either thinking about or currently trying to get pregnant.

I think that we as a community of wanna-be parents are severely lacking in accurate information and support during this incredibly exciting, yet stressful and unfamiliar time.  I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve spent online searching for answers as to why my temperature doesn’t spike after day 14, or why my mucus doesn’t stretch for miles, or why the OPK kits never show me a digital smile, or why my luteal phase isn’t as long as I’d like, or WHY I’M NOT PREGNANT YET!?!?

A Maternal State of Mind is a place where you can come visit to hear about my unique experience trying to conceive (ttc), where you can find [some] answers to the millions of unanswered questions you must have, or where you can just come share your own story.  Please be aware, I am NOT a doctor and am no expert in this field.  I am just a wanna-be mama who has made it a priority to educate myself and my fellow wanna-bes about this insane roller coaster towards conception.

Leave a Reply

