The Pregnant Blogger

I’ve developed a slight obsession with following blogs this year. I don’t follow many – perhaps 7 in all – but I love them, read them almost daily, and feel like I really know the authors. No, i’m not one of those psychos who thinks that the blog posts are written especially for me, or that the authors are my new best friends.  But a good blogger let’s you into their life a bit and that’s what keeps me coming back.

The first blog I began following was Iowa Girl Eats.  ‘Iowa Girl’, or Kristin, is a food blogger.  I love her recipes and literally try 1-2 new ones every week.  They’re delicious, healthy, and easy to follow. I also love reading her blog because she starts out each post with a personal story or tid-bit.  When she goes on vacation, she takes us with her, sharing the fun adventures she is on.  She shares her family – her hubby Ben, her brother and his family, her mom and dad, and her younger brother who just happens to live in Denver, like me. I admit, once in awhile, she comes up in everyday conversations between me and the hubby, and he knows exactly who she is!

After following her blog for over a year, Iowa Girl’s post today threw me for a loop. She announced that she’s 5 months pregnant. Although happy for her, it made me sad.  I’m sure this doesn’t surprise you, but it did me. I have been pretty good about not letting my emotions take over when I hear the exciting news of yet another pregnancy. But today, I saw this and sat at my desk and let the tears roll down my cheeks for a few minutes.  Maybe it’s just that Iowa Girl’s life seems so picture perfect from far away. My immediate response was, ‘of course, it probably happened for her on the first try.’ I know that’s not fair to her.  I hope it did happen on the first try! Lord knows I would never wish fertility problems on anyone. But for whatever reason, the news made me sad.  I had a moment of weakness where I just had to ask – WHY ME!?

4 thoughts on “The Pregnant Blogger

  1. I too live in Denver and after nearly three years of TTC have definitely experienced the quiet…or not so quiet…. tears. IVF is my next step. HUGS to you!

  2. FYI…I usually forget to comment that my infertility blog is teardropsfalling.wordpress.com. My normal/teaching/life blog is acupofbliss. However, I’ve discovered in recent months that I needed some anonymity 🙂

    • Hi Lauren,

      Thanks for your messages! This is such a trying time, and I wish you the best of luck throughout your journey. Even though we don’t know one another, it’s comforting to know that someone is so close-by and going through the same thing.

      I look forward to following your story.

Leave a Reply

