Day 2 Post-Transfer!

Well, it’s day 2 post-transfer. I’ve been sitting up a bit today, at an incline, but that’s about it. The transfer itself was easy-peasy. EXCEPT, I had to use a bedpan! No one warned me about the bedpan, so let me warn you – it’s humiliating!  And the bedpan is just a part of the bigger problem.  Let me tell you a story.

A girl prepares all morning for her transfer. She arrives at the clinic, prepared for a relaxed couple of hours with an acupuncture appointment before and after her transfer. But then bed-panshe begins to drink water. And more water. And more water. Her bladder fills andexpands.  She has to pee so badly moments before the procedure, but they insist the bladder needs to remain full.  She can’t stand the discomfort so they tell her she can fill half a cup with pee, but must then ‘clench’ and stop the flow. Can you imagine?  She hesitates, but does it because she just can’t stand the way she is feeling. Then the procedure begins and the technician uses pressure to hold an ultrasound wand directly over her bladder throughout. In moments, it’s all over.  Well, the transfer, that is. BigBladderUltrasoundShe is then told she must lay still on her back for an hour. An hour!  The nurse offers a bedpan and she tells her no.  Aren’t old people the only ones that use bedpans!?  She tries to ignore the pain, focus on something else. But she keeps asking her husband how long it’s been.  “Just 5 mins, honey;” “It’s only been 20 minutes, my love.” And that’s when she broke.  Only 20 minutes!? She knows she can’t last another 40! The nurse is called in. She lifts her bare butt onto the cold, plastic bucket. And releases…It’s never felt so darn good…

Yeah, that was me…

Aside from the bladder drama, the appointment really was smooth sailing. We arrived early  because it we were getting a May snowstorm here in Denver.  Therefore, we ended up spending about 4 hours at CCRM with a fair bit of waiting around. First thing was a blood test to check my estrogen and progesterone levels. This was to determine whether my meds needed to be changed following the transfer.  I also had a 25 minute acupunctureIVFIncubator session before and after.  The transfer itself took no more than 10 minutes.  They rolled in what looked like an incubator that premies that need help breathing are sometimes placed in. That was my embies’ home.  They showed us a magnified shot of the embie on a screen before sucking it into a catether.  The catheter was inserted through my cervix and the ultrasound machine showed me (and the doctor!) where the embryo was being placed. He removed the catheter and the embryologist checked it to ensure the embryo had been removed.  But I knew it had. I could see it there on the screen – an embryo in my uterus. Finally.

And then I came home for 2 days of bedrest.  My husband figured I’d be in heaven since there’s nothing I love more than a day of lying on the couch and watching a marathon of romantic comedies. But, when you have no choice but to lay on the couch, and to lay flat ALL DAY LONG, even the laziest person in the world would be itching to get up and run around. So, it was annoying. I was totally bored. I know that each clinic’s recommendations for bedrest are different, but I decided to follow what CCRM said by the book.  I’m going to them for a reason, after all!

Although it sounds like this post is one long b*tch-fest, I’m actually feeling great. I am uncharacteristically hopeful and I am enjoying the way this time is encouraging a closeness  and bonding between my hubby and me. We’re both feeling excited, scared, and eager for test day to roll around.

Below, is the little guy they implanted. A 5-day old embie.

Embryo

7 thoughts on “Day 2 Post-Transfer!

  1. There is nothing worse then a full bladder and being told you can’t empty it! Can’t think about anything else. I’m sure however it was all worth it. About to go through the journey myself, yikes!

  2. Love you blog! You must be really excited. Two more months!

    How did you guys decide to transfer only one embryo instead of two?

    Thank you,

    Fon

    • Thank you! And yes, feeling very excited! …and getting nervous! 🙂

      Our doctor strongly recommended transferring only one. There are a lot of risk factors that come with having multiples, and given that we are relatively young (30), both healthy, and that our problem was a mechanical one (my tubes were blocked) and not an egg/sperm quality, etc one, we had a very good chance of it (1 or 2) sticking.

  3. Pingback: Missing my Family While Nurturing our Embie | A Maternal State of Mind

Leave a Reply

