Embryo Development Timeline

I came across this on a couple of blogs and found it incredibly informative and useful so I thought I should share with all of you!

I did a 5-day transfer.  I am on 4DPT today. That means that, if my embryo has survived, it is in its second day of implantation. This chart also tells me that it is 6DPT when my body will begin releasing HCG, showing me that that is the earliest time that it makes sense to take a home pregnancy test (in the event that I can’t hold out until Beta test day on Friday!). 

5-Day Transfer

Days Past
Transfer (DPT)
Embryo Development
One The blastocyst begins to hatch out of its shell
Two The blastocyst continues to hatch out of its shell and begins to attach itself to the uterus
Three The blastocyst attaches deeper into the uterine lining, beginning implantation
Four Implantation continues
Five Implantation is complete, cells that will eventually become the placenta and fetus have begun to develop
Six Human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) starts to enter the blood stream
Seven Fetal development continues and hCG continues to be secreted
Eight Fetal development continues and hCG continues to be secreted
Nine Levels of hCG are now high enough to detect a pregnancy

3-Day Transfer

Days Past
Transfer (DPT)
 Embryo Development
 One The embryo continues to grow and develop, turning from a 6-8 cell embryo into a morula
 Two The cells of the morula continue to divide, developing into a blastocyst
 Three The blastocyst begins to hatch out of its shell
 Four The blastocyst continues to hatch out of its shell and begins to attach itself to the uterus
 Five The blastocyst attaches deeper into the uterine lining, beginning implantation
 Six Implantation continues
 Seven Implantation is complete, cells that will eventually become the placenta and fetus have begun to develop
 Eight Human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) starts to enter the blood stream
 Nine Fetal development continues and hCG continues to be secreted
 Ten Fetal development continues and hCG continues to be secreted
 Eleven Levels of hCG are now high enough to detect a pregnancy

Source:

http://www.nyufertilitycenter.org/ivf/embryo_transfer

 

10 thoughts on “Embryo Development Timeline

  1. I held off until I got second beta! I wanted to make sure everything (was semi) ok. No unfortunately I’m not, but I’m following your journey now and can’t wait to be updated! And a big congrats if you 100% are! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Missing my Family While Nurturing our Embie | A Maternal State of Mind

Leave a Reply

