Honeymoon Phase Revisited!

I have fallen madly, deeply, completely in love…again.

Becoming pregnant renewed the magic in my marriage.  I feel like a kid again.  I hear my husband’s voice and I get butterflies, I feel his touch and my body heat rises, he sneaks me a smile and I let out a little giggle. I can’t get enough of him. And I love it.

I have no idea if this is common amongst all pregnant couples.  Perhaps it is. I know that pregnancy is a special time for fertile couples as well.  But, I can’t help but feel like it’s stronger and more powerful for us. We’ve been through so much together throughout our IF journey. There were times when the stress and disappointment associated with infertility got in the way of our relationship.  I allowed the pain that I was feeling to seep in to our marriage. I let my attention turn away from ‘us’ and focus only on the process and goal of IVF.

I didn’t realize just how much I missed my husband until now. I was unaware that things were off, because I was all consumed with our infertility.

No matter what happens with this pregnancy, I am grateful that it has brought me back to life.  It has brought me back to him.  I will never again let the pains of life overshadow the incredible love I have for the most wonderful man person in the world.

To those of you in the midst of your IF journey, be sure to remain focused on your marriage. Remind yourself of the single most important reason you’re putting yourself through this hell – FOR LOVE.

6 thoughts on “Honeymoon Phase Revisited!

  1. So true! I hate to give infertility any credit- but my husband and I are better parents and stronger partners because of all that we had to go through together. The past year of sleepless nights for example- we had (nearly) infinite patience with each other and our daughter after so many years of infertility. Wishing you so much happiness and a honeymoon that lasts forever.

  2. Couldn’t have said it better! Even though hubs is not with me, I still feel it and I think it’s true. It’s almost like an even playing field finally after IF for so long and feeling like the blame. Enjoy it Hun!! 🙂

  3. My husband and I were so stressed from going through all the treatments and taking several years to reach our newly end result. Throughout this last round of IVF, I have never felt closer to him than I do right now and now we are so happy we finally got the result we wanted, I feel like we are back in the puppy love stage. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

