8wks,3days

Warning: This is a pregnancy post

We went in for our 8 1/2 week ultrasound today.  I was nervous, as usual.  I’ve been reading far too many blogs and online forums and I find myself thinking too often about the sad stories that I read from time to time (feels like all the time).

When I was called back for the u/s, I wanted to literally run towards the room, tear off my pants as I went and leap onto the exam table.  I wanted that wand inside of me and I wanted it NOW! I was so desperate to see our little Blueberry (actual size = green olive).  But alas, my slow a*s nurse left me to take my time undressing and then anxiously awaiting for what felt like forever (likely about 3 minutes).Blueberry

Well, Blueberry is doing great. She’s 1.85cm and has a HR of 160bpms. She turned andfaced directly at us, resembling the cutest little teddy bear, with a round belly and short little arms and legs.  She was beautiful.

Today we graduated from the fertility clinic! Well, I have to continue with weekly blood tests until I’m off my medications, but as far as Blueberry is concerned, next time we see her (which is just a week away!) will be at our general OB!

My labs all look great (estrogen and progesterone) and my subchorionic bleed is completely gone, so I get to begin tapering off of my meds tomorrow (yippee!!!).  First to go is one of my 3 progesterone suppositories per day.  I will also reduce my estrogen patches from 4 to 3.  I’m so excited to get off all this crap!

I guess I would say that I am feeling excited more than anything else these days, but I certainly have not let go of my 1st-trimester-anxiety. At times, I wish I was feeling every pregnancy symptom in the book, although if I were, I know I would regret saying that.  I just wish Blueberry could remind me she’s still doing ok in there from time to time. I have been feeling a bit tired this last week (fell asleep on the couch mid-day Saturday), and although I wouldn’t say I’m suffering from nausea, I feel like I’m often on the verge of it.  Does that make any sense?  Like, I just feel kinda funny in my belly (throat actually) – a lot like how I feel after a big night of drinking. My most pronounced symptom is definitely that I get full very easily. It’s obvious my digestion has slowed way down and it takes awhile for my food to settle.

Anyhoo, that’s about all I have to share.  Hope you all had a good start to your week and that you aren’t suffering in 97 degree weather like we are here in Denver!

11 thoughts on “8wks,3days

  1. The “verge” of nausea…that’s exactly how I feel! It’s not really a sick feeling just a little different and uneasy.

  2. Oh I love this! Yay for blueberry! Can’t wait to join you soon 🙂 oh, and I think it is hotter this week in Houston. I can’t wait to get back to Denver weather 🙂

  3. Ooh, I have the “verge” also. But then the “verge” morphs into actual full blown nauseau. And then yesterday, vomiting! Ugh. Even when I back down from “verge”, I’ve noticed I have no appetite.

    I’m so excited for you! You’re a graduate, wahooo! Go you!

    • I found out really early. The only symptom I had was cramping. These days I get full really easily and feel kinda nauseous most of the day. If you’re concerned, you should definitely take a test. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: The Boy Who Hated Sophie (+5 month update) | A Maternal State of Mind

Leave a Reply

