The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly! (19 Week Update + Bump pic!)

Well, I’m firmly into my maternity clothes now.  I would still say I haven’t ‘popped’ but Im definitely workin’ my little bump. I can’t believe Im going to be 20wks on Friday – that means I’m almost halfway there!

A little update on me:

  • I’m gaining weight.  Eight pounds so far.  It’s tough and a little scary for me to watch the numbers increase on my scale, especially since I’ve always struggled with my weight.  I really only like to see numbers going down! (but it is so worth it!)
  • Hair.  It’s my ugly truth.  The hair on my belly, while still blond peach fuzz, is definitely longer and a little thicker.  NO, you certainly wouldn’t notice it if I was walking by you in a bikini (not that there’s any chance in hell I’d be caught in a bikini these days!), but it is painfully noticeable to me, and unfortunately to the hubby as well…(but this is so worth it!)
  • Nipples.  Another ugly truth.  My areolas are getting darker and bigger.  I hate it. (but this is so worth it!)
  • Breasts. FINALLY getting bigger!  I’m still in my same bras, but I’m so much fuller and have some legitimate cleavage for the first time in my life!  Yay!
  • Skin. My hubby keeps telling me that my skin is really clear and that the bags under my eyes have disappeared (Im going to try to ignore that he said I used to have bags under my eyes!).  He says I’m glowing.  I’ll take that! 🙂
  • Wandering uterus. My uterus still seems to change size and location throughout the day.  It’s weird.  Sometimes I’ll lay down to get a good feel and it will be big and hard.  Other times, it may feel higher (above my bellybutton) but much softer.  Sometimes it’s way harder on my right side.  Sometimes not.  I guess I just need to get used to this, but it freaks me out every time I note a change.

A little about Blueberry: Blue is the size of a small cantaloupe this week. After feeling her kicks last weekend, I went days without feeling a thing, which kinda bummed me out.  But in the last few days, I have felt her here and there.  Nothing has been like that first time, when her kicks were pretty consistent for over a minute, but I have felt 2-3 kicks once or twice a day for the past two days.  What an AWESOME feeling it is. Makes me feel guilty that Im getting to enjoy it when the hubby can’t, but I suppose his time will come – hopefully in just a couple weeks!

Our 20wk appointment is next Thursday (Ill actually be 21wks then).  Im feeling nervous given that it is a 45-min ultrasound with the primary goal to search for and hopefully rule out abnormalities.  I have a feeling I’m going to be holding my breath the whole time!  But, I’m also excited because a) I hear it’s pretty awesome to be able to see different parts of the brain, the four chambers of the heart, and all the organs and b) we get to find out if we’re having a boy or a girl! Three months ago, I would have insisted that we were not going to find out the sex, but now I’m desperate to know!  Don’t judge me – 40wks is a long time to wait!

That’s about all I have for ya today.  Except, Im going to do my first bump reveal! Please go no further if you don’t want to see.  Believe me, I’ll understand.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

BabyBump_19wks_3

9 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly! (19 Week Update + Bump pic!)

  1. Oh my goodness! You are beautiful! And definitely rocking that bump 🙂 I’m so encouraged that you are “embracing” more of this pregnancy, including all of the uncomfortable symptoms. I think it is way too easy to minimize everything when we’ve been through infertility. Almost like we don’t have a right to complain. I don’t think that is true. Each pregnancy is a gift and some symptoms are downright miserable (take my current constipation). Lol. So glad that blueberry is moving around 🙂 I can’t wait for the big gender reveal soon!

  2. Oh your baby bump is so cute! And you’re so gorgeous! What a beautiful mommy 😊 I had a similar experience with kicking (freaked me out when she stopped) but it will be on and off n will feel amazing! Goodluck at your next scan! Xo

  3. You look beautiful Mama! And no judging here. I always used to debate whether I’d find out or not. Then I read a story that a man wrote about his wife being pregnant. He said his “greatest day of his life so far” just kept getting better. He said the day he married his wife was the greatest day of his life, then the day they found out they were expecting, then then day he found out he’d have a daughter, and finally the day she was born. He talked about how finding out just made the whole experience that much more special for him. I hope it feels the same for you.

Leave a Reply

