Starting to Believe – 24 Week Update (+ Bump pic!)

Am I seriously having a baby in less than 4 months!?!?  I have come to the conclusion that it was my battle with infertility and the difficult journey we had to travel to get here that makes me incredulous.  My belly screams pregnant lady, and Blue’s beautiful kicks come and go all day long.  I even have little person clothes hanging in an otherwise empty closet.  Yet, I can just barely believe that I am going to actually hold our baby boy in my arms in just four short months.

Unlike some of you who have excitedly and willingly embraced your pregnancy since day one, I have always discussed this pregnancy as a ‘perhaps,’ a ‘what if,’ a ‘if nothing goes wrong,’ or a ‘if we’re lucky’…

Yet, it’s starting to get to that point where there’s really no denying it.  Sure, the worst could always happen, but we’re in pretty darn good shape right now. Monday was our 24wk appointment and my uterus measured right on track at 25cm (should coincide with whatever week you’re at) and Blue’s heart was beating at a strong rate of 145bpms. (Update: This was also the visit where I had the 1-hr glucose tolerance test to screen for gestational diabetes as well as a blood test for anemia.  My results came back in range, so I am a-ok!).

Here’s a quick update on me:

  • I fit into nothing that is not labeled maternity.  My hubby is psyched that he has the majority of the closet space since I packed away all my pre-pregnancy clothes.
  • I am experiencing virtually no symptoms! If I didn’t have a bulging belly and weren’t feeling baby kicks, I wouldn’t even know I was pregnant.  Ok, that’s not completely true – the hair on my belly is still, well, more present than I would like.  But other than that – nada, nothing.  So far, I am very lucky.
  • I’ve gained a whopping 12 pounds.  Ugh, totally not loving that.  I need to make sure I don’t gain more than a pound a week for the remainder of my pregnancy.
  • My plancenta is in the front, making it harder for my hubby to feel Blue’s kicks. This really bums me out.  I feel guilty and sad that I am able to feel Blue so much more than he can.  Every time I feel some surface kicks, I rush him over, but he usually only gets to catch the last 1 or 2.

Seriously, guys.  I can’t believe it.  As much as my belly has grown and as much as Blue’s closet is filling up with clothes, and as much as I feel Blue kicking at this very moment, I have a hard time believing I’ll actually meet him in just four short months.  It’s just unbelievable  In fact, it’s a freakin’ miracle.  We are so very lucky.  And so very happy!

So, to conclude on a super duper happy note, here’s my 24 week bump pic…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

BabyBump_24Weeks_2

6 thoughts on “Starting to Believe – 24 Week Update (+ Bump pic!)

  1. So CUTE! I love your pic! You look beautiful! And I must say…I feel the same exact way. Will I really have a baby? Is there a possibility of something going wrong? Being so traumatized by infertility makes me question every single movement and every single quiet moment. Sigh.

  2. Oh you are so cute! Honestly 12 pounds doesn’t sound like much for 24 weeks pregnant. I’m so glad that you are beginning to embrace this baby. It coming. You really will hold Blue very soon! I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

