Dearest Toby

To my dearest Toby,

Tomorrow, you’re going to receive the greatest gift your daddy and I will ever be able to give you.  You will receive a beautiful baby sister – a sister who I hope will remain your dearest friend, closest confident, and biggest source of support for the rest of your very long lives.

There will be hard times as our family embarks on this new journey as a family of 4 instead of 3.  There will be times when you will wish your sister away and will be desperate for our lives to return to the way they were before she arrived.  Her presence will take away some of the undivided attention that mommy and daddy have showered you with since birth and that will create a sense of jealousy and insecurity in you. But I want you to know that nothing in this world will shake our love for and devotion to you. You and I have a unique and ever so special relationship that will continue to flourish and grow. And you will always be my first born, my sweet baby boy.

We will need you to help us care for your little sister.  You are such a sensitive, loving boy and the best little helper I know.  You will thrive in the role of first assistant to mommy and daddy and your little sister will be so grateful to you. You can help with diaper changes and bubble baths, feeding and rocking to sleep, but most important, it will be you that she will look to to make her smile and laugh, to teach her to crawl and then walk, and show her how to be a mischievous toddler!

Toby, I prepare to go to sleep this evening with a heavy heart.  It is full of love for you, it is full of excited anticipation to meet your little sister, but also a painful awareness that today was the last day you and I will ever spend with you as an only child and me as a mom of one.  Before I laid you down in bed, I held you tight and rocked and sang to you.  You wrapped your little legs around my waist, lay your head on my shoulder and ran your hands through my hair.  This will not be the last night we share these special moments, but the opportunities will likely be less frequent and often interrupted.  It was a special moment that I will cherish always.

But my gosh, Toby, you know what’s really going to be special? – You’re going to have a sister tomorrow.  And sisters are awesome!  Sibling relationships are a gift in and of themselves. I feel so incredibly lucky to have your Uncle Abe as my big brother and am so grateful that I have him in my life.  I’m going to venture to say he feels the same way and I can pretty much assure you that you will soon feel that way too.

I love you, my sweet boy.  Although I am nervous about entering this next stage in our lives, I am so very excited and I know that it is going to be a happy, wonderful change in all of our lives.

With much love,

Mommy

TobesAndMe

One thought on “Dearest Toby

Leave a Reply

