21 Day Fix – Day Three

3 days down, 18 to go!

Our Sunday Funday of food prepping is paying off.  I am loving having warm, healthy, clean meals to eat for lunch.  It’s tasty and satisfying.  Simon hit is limit today, however, and is requesting a bit more variety next week.  I only made one carb – sweet potato – and two similar proteins – chicken and pork loin.  Ill have to brainstorm some new ideas for the next round.  Any great ideas!?

Unfortunately, our diet and exercise needs don’t compliment one another very well.  Simon struggles to gain weight while I struggle to lose it.  So, I’m having to be creative with my meal planning so that he is getting the healthy fats and additional calories he needs without consuming too much of it myself.  Making zoodles instead of pasta, for example, has not satisfied him because although the nutritional benefits are high, the calories are very low (which I love!). Thank god for Pinterest…!

The best thing is that Simon has decided to join me in the workouts.  We’ve never really exercised together – we’re not that adorable couple that takes early morning runs together – so this is new.  New and great!  We did our first video tonight and having him by my side was motivational and I enjoyed sharing the time with him after we each spent the evening away from one another tending to our kiddos.

He even wrote a quote from 21 Day Fix founder, Autumn, on our kitchen blackboard wall!  Probably just because he thinks she’s super hot, but whatever, I’ll take it! 🙂

PainIsTemporary.jpg

Although my official weigh in will not be until next Monday, I was pleased to see that my weight is down 3lbs already and I am just 2 pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight!  Again, I was already overweight so my {first} goal is still 7 pounds away.

Today’s menu was:

Breakfast: 2 eggs cups with kale, mushroom, ham and cheese (1 red, 1/2 green, 1/2 blue)

Snack: Yogurt and berries (1 red, 1 purple)

Lunch: Pork, sweet potato, broccoli and cauliflower (1 red, I yellow, 2 green)

Snack: Red & yellow peppers with hummus (1 green, 1/2 blue)

Snack: Handful of nuts (1/2 blue) – this was an extra snack I shouldn’t have had but I was really hungry when I got home.  I need to re-evaluate my meals earlier in the day to avoid this from happening!

Dinner: Pad Thai (1 red, 1 yellow, 1/2 green…and then some) – not a 21 day fix approved meal, unfortunately.  Simon really wanted to make it and it’s tough for me to eat something different because Toby is in the ‘if-i-see-you-eating-it-then-i-want-it-or-ill-tantrum’ phase.  This is where our unaligned goals can have a negative effect…

Snack (after workout): Cottage cheese & strawberries/pineapple (1 red, 1 purple)

4 thoughts on “21 Day Fix – Day Three

  1. I’m so proud of you! I think you are absolutely beautiful, but I ALSO love being able to set goals as mama and work to meet them, setting such awesome examples for our kiddos. Hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

