Go Sugar Free Course (Days 1-4)

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 9.06.14 PM

Jacqueline Smith’s Go Sugar Free course – 67 days to free yourself from sugar addiction. They say it takes 66 days to break a habit so they went with 67 for good measure. šŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 9.09.43 PMI feel like I’m at a significant advantage (over my previous self) because of the Whole30. I’ve completed two round of Whole30 – a 30 day elimination diet that excludes added real or artificial sugar, alcohol, grains, legumes, dairy and baked goods – since January. The ultimate goal of Whole30 is to help people find what they creator Melissa Hartwig calls your “food freedom forever.” Hartwig defines Food Freedom Forever as being in control of the food you eat, instead of food controlling you. “Resets like the Whole30Ā canĀ jump-start the process,”Ā she says, “but as anyone who hasĀ dieted knows, holding onto that freedom and creating healthy habits that last is the hard part.

I successfully completed two rounds of Whole30, learned so much about my relationship with food and how it affects my body and mind and I know what IĀ want my food freedom to look like but my addiction to food – especially sugars (and related grains) – is strong. And soon after I complete the program, I fall back into my old ways.

With the foundation set from Whole30 Ā I am embarking on my Go Sugar Free journey. What draws me to this course is more than just the extended time period of 67 days but also the:

  • The abundance of information we receive based on up-to-date research (so we dont have to read all the books and studies ourselves).
  • Practical guides on how to handle various personal and interpersonal issues that will arise throughout the 67 days.
  • One-on-one support that Jacqueline provides through email and phone calls.
  • A private group where we can engage with current and past students.

Days 1-4

My overall diet has improved tremendously following my first Whole30 and my sugar intake, even during a ‘relapse’ has certainly been lower or at least the ‘bingeing’ has been minimized. So, these first 4 days have been pretty easy for me:

  • No physical symptoms
  • Very notable increased energy
  • Cravings have definitely existed but pushed aside relatively easily

Major Goals

  • Free myself from my addiction (obviously!)
  • I’m not going to lie – weight loss is a close #2
  • Related to #2 – An after photo!!!
  • Improved sleep (specifically, not feeling tired in the morning even after 7-8hrs of sleep)
  • Increased energy – increased intensity of workouts

It’s too early to make any judgement about the overall quality of the course. Although I am very lucky to have received a scholarship to participate free of charge, I know everyone else has paid $399 and to be personally honest, Im expecting my mind to be blown for that type of money. It’s a huge investment and not one that I would have been able to make. I learned about the course from a favorite blogger of mine – Iowagirleats.com and she certainly raved about the course, so I have high hopes on account of that.

I am looking forward to what the next 63 days hold. You can follow me on Instagram to see the great stuff I’m eating!

Leave a Reply

